Texas State Team wins District 10 Advertising Competition

April 17, 2023

A large group of college students in business attire posing and smiling
Members of Texas State University's NSAC team celebrate their District 10 win in Austin.


SAN MARCOS, Texas — Texas State University placed first in the 2023 District 10 American Advertising Federation’s (AAF) National Student Advertising Competition (NSAC), which took place in Austin, Texas, last week. District 10 includes schools in Texas, Oklahoma, Arkansas, and Louisiana. 

This is the third time Texas State has placed first in the last four years. Texas State also won first place in 2022, making this the school’s first back-to-back district championships since 1992-1993. 

This year’s case competition was sponsored by Indeed, which challenged students to develop an advertising campaign for U.S. adults aged 18-24.

The team consisted of students in advertising, public relations, communication design, and marketing in the School of Journalism and Mass Communication and the Department of Marketing. The students were supported by the faculty and staff in the College of Fine Arts and Communication and the McCoy College of Business.

"I’m proud of our students’ work ethic and dedication to doing the little things right,” said Dr. Michael Devlin, associate professor in the School of Journalism and Mass Communication and NSAC team advisor. "Our program’s continued success is a result of developing a deeper understanding of strategic and creative thinking among our students which ensures they will be career-ready when they graduate.

The team now advances to the semi-final round taking place in May. From there, eight semi-final winners will compete at the finals June 1-4 in St. Louis, Missouri.

The work is divided across the fall 2022 and spring 2023 semesters. In the fall, marketing and advertising students conduct research and articulate the business strategy for the spring class, which then develops the media and creative strategy. The fall advisors included Dr. Rick Wilson (marketing) and Mike Dollen (advertising). The spring advisors include Dr. Mike Devlin (advertising) and DeeAnne Vickery (advertising). 

The students who participated in the Spring competition and who will be advancing to regionals include: Parker Edington, Janet Hagedorn, Makenna Crutchfield, Alec Brinneman, Kaitlynn Turner, Caitlyn McIntyre, Caitlyn Coxon, Cooper Murphy, Maya Goodlow, Sandra Sanchez, Isabel Orozco, Colin Morris, Madison Daniel, Jenna Ramon, Jeremy Kristynik, Citlaly Morales, Gaddiel Hernandez, Amy Lonsway, Katie Krupinski, Ryan Eldredge, Luca Palomo, Jode Gayle, Grace LeMay, and Izabella Sullivan. ✯

For more information, email Twister Marquiss, manager of marketing and communications for the McCoy College of Business, at twister@txstate.edu.

About the McCoy College of Business
Established in 1970, Texas State University’s business school officially became the McCoy College of Business in 2004 following a donation of $20 million by Emmett and Miriam McCoy. The college, which offers classes in both San Marcos and Round Rock, is accredited by AACSB in both business and accounting, and has graduated more than 43,000 alumni.

Marketing and Communications

McCoy Hall 532
Texas State University
601 University Drive
San Marcos, TX 78666