50 Years of Excellence

Fifty years of growth and change. Fifty years of inspiring stories. Fifty years of leadership.



Dr. Leland Wilson, Professor of Business and Chair of the Business Administration Dept., is named the school's first Dean. 

timeline dot


1,854 Students

23 Faculty

timeline dot


2,302 Students

39 Faculty

timeline dot


Dr. Ed D. Roach is named Dean of the School of Business Administration when Dr. Wilson returns to teaching duties. 

timeline dot

Texas State students on computer in 1988


1 in 4 students enrolled at SWT is seeking a business degree.

4,032 Students

66 Faculty

timeline dot

Dr. Paul Gowens portrait - 1986


Dr. Paul Gowens is appointed Dean of the School of Business Administration.

5,879 Students

102 Faculty

timeline dot

Dr. Larry Patterson


Dr. Larry Patterson is named acting Dean of the School of Business Administration.

timeline dot


4,054 Students

94 Faculty

timeline dot


3,478 Students

83 Faculty

timeline dot


School is accredited by AACSB International – The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business.

timeline dot



Dr. Denise Smart becomes Dean of the College of Business Administration.

4,331 Students

85 Faculty

timeline dot

Miriam & Emmitt McCoy


  Philanthropists Emmett and Miriam McCoy pledge $20 million to Texas State.

  The College of Business Administration is named the McCoy College of Business Administration.

  Groundbreaking ceremony for a new 126,000 sq. ft. building to house the college.

  The Emmett and Miriam McCoy College of Business Administration Development Foundation is created. The foundation is the primary recipient and fiscal manager of major gifts to the McCoy College of Business.

timeline dot

2005 AAF Yahoo Competition


American Advertising Federation wins first place at national competition.

timeline dot

McCoy Hall


McCoy Hall opens as the new home to the College of Business.

5,450 Students

87 Faculty

timeline dot


Paul Bulmahn in newly built trading lab


  Paul Bulmahn donates $1.5 million to establish the state-of-the-art research and trading lab.

  McCoy Student Managed Investment Fund (SMIF) is launched with $100,000 as a practicum to provide students with real-world experience managing investment funds. 

timeline dot

Business Leadership Week event


McCoy College of Business Administration hosts first Business Leadership Week event, which becomes a signature event for the college each year. 

timeline dot


Center for Entrepreneurial Action is created.

3,651 Students

101 Faculty

timeline dot


Wayne Noll & Vicki West


  The Center for Latin American Commerce is expanded to the Institute for Global Business.

  Center for Professional Sales is established; Texas State is recognized as one of the top universities for sales education for the Sales Education Foundation.

timeline dot


McCoy College receives AACSB accreditation in accounting, becoming one of only 186 programs worldwide accredited in both business and accounting. 

timeline dot

American Marketing Association at Annual Competition


American Marketing Association wins International Chapter of the Year and the Case Competition at the American Marketing Association's 36th annual International Collegiate Conference.

timeline dot

Enactus is named 2014 national champions


Texas State Enactus is named 2014 National Champions.

timeline dot


4,656 Students

113 Faculty

timeline dot

Hayden Payne receiving his LBJ Outstanding Student award


Hayden Payne awarded The LBJ Outstanding Senior Student Award.

timeline dot


4,821 Students

134 Faculty

timeline dot

Jake Negvesky


James “Jake” Negvesky awarded The LBJ Outstanding Senior Student Award.

timeline dot

Board of Directors


The college's Development Foundation has established 124 endowments and distributed over $9.6 million in support of faculty and students through endowed chairs, professorships, scholarships and other endeavors.

timeline dot